World’s Largest Amateur Women’s Golf Competition Begins in April

Semi-Final Venues Announced; JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Willow Desert Golf Club to Host Finals for 2011 EWGA Championship

PALM BEACH GARDENS, Fla., February , 2011 – The EWGA Championship, considered the world's largest amateur women's golf competition, starts in April at local chapters of the EWGA (Executive Women's Golf Association). From April through July, depending on the area's golf season, local competitions will be held by the more than 120 EWGA chapters found throughout the United States and Canada.

At the chapter level, EWGA members choose to compete in individual stoke play in five flights based on USGA handicaps or a scramble team competition. Low gross and low net winners in each flight and the winning scramble team then compete in one of 15 semi-final competitions held throughout the United States. (see locations below). Semi-final winners will compete in the 36-hole championship finals at JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Desert Willow Golf Club in Palm Desert, Calif. on October 21-22, 2011. Now in its 16th year, this competition annually attracts over 2400 participants.
"The EWGA Championship is a premier event for women of all playing ability levels. For some of our members who did not grow up playing sports, this is one of their first experiences in competitive play," says Pam Swensen, CEO of the EWGA. "The growth and continued excellence of the EWGA Championship demonstrates our ongoing commitment to providing women with more opportunities through the game of golf."

Founded in 1991, the EWGA is dedicated to connecting women to learn, play, and enjoy golf for business and fun. There are currently over 120 chapters throughout the United States with international chapters in Canada. The chapters provide a wide range of golf, social and networking activities for both new and experienced golfers.

The EWGA is headquartered in Palm Beach Gardens, Florida. For more information about the association and its membership, visit

Dates and locations for the 15 EWGA semi-final competitions include:

  • June 25, 2011 South & Central Florida: Saddlebrook Resort, Wesley Chapel, Fla.
  • July 9, 2011 Southern California/Desert Southwest: Glen Annie Golf Club, Santa Barbara, Calif.
  • July 16, 2011 Texas: Horseshoe Bay Resort, Horseshoe Bay, Texas
  • July 23, 2011 Carolinas: Grand Dunes, Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
  • Northern Florida & Southeast: The Landings, Savannah, Georgia
  • August 6, 2011 Northern California Area: Bayonet Blackhorse, Seaside, Calif.
  • Central Plains: Sandia Golf Club, Albuquerque, New Mexico
  • August 13, 2011 Eastern Midwest: Cattails at Meadowview, Meadowview Marriott,
  • Kingsport, Tenn.
  • Chesapeake: Independence Golf Club, Midlothian, Virginia
  • August 20, 2011 Metro Northeast: Crystal Springs, Hamburg, New Jersey
  • Northeastern: Turning Stone Resort & Casino, Verona, New York
  • Ohio Valley: Royal American Links, Galena, Ohio
  • August 27, 2011 Pacific Northwest: Palouse Ridge Golf Club, Pullman, Wash.
  • Upper Midwest: Wander Springs Golf Course, Greenleaf, Wis.
  • Upper Mideast: Little Mountain Country Club, Concord, Ohio

October 21-22, 2011 EWGA Championship Finals
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Desert Willow Golf Club
Palm Desert, Calif.

Download Full Press Release (word)